Chicken Enchilada Corn Chowder

This recipe has quickly become one of my favorite winter meals to make. I love cooking soup in the winter, because it’s so easy and usually pretty cheap.

So far I’ve made this soup three times in the past month! It’s probably one of, if not the, best soups I’ve ever come up with. It also reheats really well, so I’m going to make a big batch of it today and eat it for my lunch all week 🙂
Chicken Enchilada Soup

Chicken Enchilada Corn Chowder

{Recipe by: Miranda Mowbray}

Ingredients (makes 4 servings):

40 oz. chicken broth (I used a combination of 16oz. chicken broth + 24oz. homemade veggie stock)

28 oz. canned green enchilada sauce (or use homemade)

4 oz. canned green chilies

1 tbsp of ground cumin

1 tbsp of chile powder

1 tsp of onion powder

1 tsp of garlic powder

salt and pepper, to taste

2.5 cups shredded chicken breast

1.5 cups cooked white rice (3/4 cups dry)

2 cups frozen yellow corn

8 oz. (1 block) fat-free cream cheese

Directions:

In a large soup pot, mix together the chicken stock, green enchilada sauce, and green chilies, bring to a boil.

Reduce to a simmer and add all of the spices, chicken, and rice.

Let simmer for about 10 minutes, then add frozen corn and cream cheese.

Bring to a low boil and cook until cream cheese has completely melted, stirring occasionally to combine.

Enjoy!

Leave a comment